Thank you Kenya and CM4K

Hey guys, well I write you from the cosiness of my own bedroom. My bedroom seems like it is the size of an entire Kenyan house. Being back in the UK is quite extraordinary, we have travelled so much over the last 24 hours. Finally made it, Brighton, it seems as if a couple shops have opened up and some house have had a fresh coat of paint. Time ticks along even when one is not around.

DSCF9472.jpgAnyway, the last couple of days, we spent time in the Maasai Mara which was absolutely stunning. It is an area near Rift valley (birth of human kind) that is government owned, but highly managed, controlled and inhabited by the Maasai. I have no photographs of them because they don’t want to have their photo taken just for the sake of entertainment or capturing some strange dress code. Fair enough… Just to give you an idea, the Maasai wear bright orange and blue patterned cloth, lots of beads and stretch their earlobes. They live in this beautiful plain, with their cattle, elephants, giraffes, zebras and lions. No fear. These guys are fearless, the lions fear the Maasai. I often saw the Maassai in bright orange cloth walking across vast green plain. I have a lot of respect for this tribe, they seemed to be uninterested in material wealth which is what we chase in the west. The Maasai seemed to be self-sustaining and living in harmony with their environment. I am not suggesting that everybody should give up their life and go join the Maasai in the Mara. However, I do think that we can learn a great deal from people living like this. They have their head screwed on in a lot of ways that we (the west) don’t.

DSCF9413.JPG

Finally, I just wanted to say a big thank you to the whole CM4k crew which made the experience wonderful (the ones who came to Kenya and those who couldn’t). I had a fantastic experience that I am currently digesting (literally…i have a bad stomach). I am so happy that I could be part of this experience and build solid friendship while experiencing a foreign culture ! ASANTE SANA DSCF9415.JPG

Leave a Reply

