My Kenyatta University Experience (Day 1)

The journey to the university was a bit long, nothing like I expected. The traffic in Kenya is immense. It took us about an hour and a half to get there. When we got there, I was really amazed by the university. Really big, and I was impressed with the security.

We arrived at the university and it was a really really warm welcome. We were welcomed by Mr Emmanuel Shikuku and the SEMA media people (Fred) were also in attendance. We did some meeting and greeting and we mixed within the difference groups.

Peter gave a 2hr lecture, which I got a recording of, and would be good for my essay, lol. Then we had an ice breaker which was a game of ‘rock, paper, scissors’ which was great fun. Then we got mixed up in groups to brain storm of what community means to us.

We had some lunch which consisted of soup, rice, ugali, rice and chicken. It was decent. 🙂

After lunch we were put in groups according to our skills, I am in the audio group. We brainstormed for a few hours and decided to focus our radio show on food and hygiene because that was a real sensitive issue for the students in the KM community.

The day ended at about 5pm, I was a bit exhausted, but I enjoyed the day, and in normal Kenyan fashion, there was traffic on the way home. I didn’t mind it because I got to view the city a bit.

IMG_6353

(Entrance to Kenyatta University)

Leave a Reply

